Fedora Linux 40 Schedule: RelEng

HierarchIndex Name Start End Duration
1 Rawhide starts Fedora Linux 40 development Tue 2023-08-08 Tue 2023-08-08 0
2 Notifications for retirement of packages with security issues Tue 2023-12-05 Mon 2024-01-01 27
3 Retire packages with security issues Mon 2024-01-01 Mon 2024-01-01 0
4 Begin reminders for packages that haven't rebuilt in last 2 releases
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/fesco/Fails_to_build_from_source_Fails_to_install/
Tue 2024-01-02 Tue 2024-01-02 0
5 Mass Rebuild Wed 2024-01-24 Tue 2024-02-20 27
6 fedora-repos update with the new keys is available in updates-testing Tue 2024-01-30 Tue 2024-01-30 0
7 Re-sign F40 content with F41 key Mon 2024-02-12 Mon 2024-02-12 0
8 Retire Orphaned and Long-Time FTBFS Rawhide Packages
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/fesco/Fails_to_build_from_source_Fails_to_install/
Mon 2024-02-12 Mon 2024-02-12 0
9 Branch Fedora Linux 40 from Rawhide Tue 2024-02-13 Tue 2024-02-13 0
10 Rawhide starts Fedora Linux 41 development Tue 2024-02-13 Tue 2024-02-13 0
11 Update Greenwave policy product_versions to add branched release Tue 2024-02-13 Tue 2024-02-13 0
12 Post-branch Freeze (end date approximate) Tue 2024-02-13 Fri 2024-02-16 3
13 Retire FTI packages in NEW state
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/fesco/Fails_to_build_from_source_Fails_to_install/
Tue 2024-02-20 Tue 2024-02-20 0
14 File FTBFS bugs from mass rebuild Tue 2024-02-20 Tue 2024-02-20 0
15 Bodhi updates-testing activation point Tue 2024-02-27 Tue 2024-02-27 0
16 Beta Freeze (starts at 1400 UTC) Tue 2024-02-27 Tue 2024-03-12 14
17 Beta release Go/No-Go Meeting
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Go_No_Go_Meeting
Thu 2024-03-07 Thu 2024-03-07 0
18 Stage Beta on master minor Thu 2024-03-07 Mon 2024-03-11 4
19 Notify Mirrors of Beta Release Thu 2024-03-07 Thu 2024-03-07 0
20 Bit-flip Beta to mirrors Mon 2024-03-11 Mon 2024-03-11 0
21 Beta Release (Early Target)
Fedora contributors plan on this
Tue 2024-03-12 Tue 2024-03-12 0
22 Current Beta Target date
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/releases/lifecycle/#_release_dates
Tue 2024-03-12 Tue 2024-03-12 0
23 Beta Target date #1
Fedora users plan on this
Tue 2024-03-19 Tue 2024-03-19 0
24 Retire FTI packages in NEW state
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/fesco/Fails_to_build_from_source_Fails_to_install/
Tue 2024-03-26 Tue 2024-03-26 0
25 Final Freeze (starts at 1400 UTC) Tue 2024-04-02 Tue 2024-04-16 14
26 Retire all packages with broken deps Tue 2024-04-02 Tue 2024-04-02 0
27 Enable Updates in Bodhi for the current release Wed 2024-04-10 Wed 2024-04-10 0
28 Final release Go/No-Go Meeting
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Go_No_Go_Meeting
Thu 2024-04-11 Thu 2024-04-11 0
29 Stage Final on master minor Thu 2024-04-11 Mon 2024-04-15 4
30 Notify Mirrors of Final Release Thu 2024-04-11 Thu 2024-04-11 0
31 Bit-flip Final to mirrors Mon 2024-04-15 Mon 2024-04-15 0
32 Early Final Target date
Fedora contributors plan on this
Tue 2024-04-16 Tue 2024-04-16 0
33 Current Final Target date
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/releases/lifecycle/#_release_dates
Tue 2024-04-16 Tue 2024-04-16 0
34 Set current release to active in Package database Tue 2024-04-16 Tue 2024-04-16 0
35 Update PDC with F38 EOL date Tue 2024-04-16 Tue 2024-04-16 0
36 Final Target date #1
Fedora users plan on this
Tue 2024-04-23 Tue 2024-04-23 0
37 REMINDER: EOL release final update push in 1 week Tue 2024-05-07 Tue 2024-05-07 0
38 REMINDER: EOL release final update push in 1 day Mon 2024-05-13 Mon 2024-05-13 0
39 Fedora Linux 38 EOL auto closure Tue 2024-05-14 Tue 2024-05-14 0
40 Update Greenwave policy product_versions to remove EOL release Tue 2024-05-14 Tue 2024-05-14 0
41 Remove Beta images Tue 2024-05-14 Tue 2024-05-14 0
42 Remove F38 from Greenwave Tue 2024-05-14 Tue 2024-05-14 0
43 Fedora Linux 40 end of life Tue 2025-05-13 Tue 2025-05-13 0