Fedora Linux 42 Schedule: Development

HierarchIndex Name Start End Duration
1 Rawhide starts Fedora Linux 42 development Tue 2024-08-06 Tue 2024-08-06 0
2 Change Checkpoint: Proposal submission deadline (Changes requiring infrastructure changes) Wed 2024-12-18 Wed 2024-12-18 0
3 Retire packages with security issues Mon 2024-12-23 Mon 2024-12-23 0
4 Change Checkpoint: Proposal submission deadline (Changes requiring mass rebuild) Tue 2024-12-24 Tue 2024-12-24 0
5 Change Checkpoint: Proposal submission deadline (System Wide Changes) Tue 2024-12-24 Tue 2024-12-24 0
6 Begin reminders for packages that haven't rebuilt in last 2 releases
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/fesco/Fails_to_build_from_source_Fails_to_install/
Tue 2024-12-24 Tue 2024-12-24 0
7 Change Checkpoint: Proposal submission deadline (Self Contained Changes) Tue 2025-01-14 Tue 2025-01-14 0
8 REMINDER: Software String Freeze in one week Tue 2025-01-14 Tue 2025-01-14 0
9 Mass Rebuild: RPMs first, then modules Wed 2025-01-15 Tue 2025-02-04 20
10 Software String Freeze Reached Tue 2025-01-21 Tue 2025-01-21 0
11 Retire Orphaned and Long-Time FTBFS Rawhide Packages
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/fesco/Fails_to_build_from_source_Fails_to_install/
Tue 2025-01-28 Tue 2025-01-28 0
12 Change Checkpoint: Completion deadline (testable) Tue 2025-02-04 Tue 2025-02-04 0
13 Branch Fedora Linux 42 from Rawhide Tue 2025-02-04 Tue 2025-02-04 0
14 Rawhide starts Fedora Linux 43 development Tue 2025-02-04 Tue 2025-02-04 0
15 Post-branch Freeze (end date approximate) Tue 2025-02-04 Fri 2025-02-07 3
16 Build list of inactive packagers for removal
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/fesco/Policy_for_inactive_packagers/
Tue 2025-02-11 Tue 2025-02-11 0
17 Retire FTI packages in NEW state
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/fesco/Fails_to_build_from_source_Fails_to_install/
Tue 2025-02-11 Tue 2025-02-11 0
18 Bodhi updates-testing activation point Tue 2025-02-18 Tue 2025-02-18 0
19 Change Checkpoint: 100% Code Complete Deadline Tue 2025-02-18 Tue 2025-02-18 0
20 Beta Freeze (starts at 1400 UTC) Tue 2025-02-18 Tue 2025-03-11 21
21 Beta Release (Early Target)
Fedora contributors plan on this
Tue 2025-03-11 Tue 2025-03-11 0
22 Current Beta Target date
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/releases/lifecycle/#_release_dates
Tue 2025-03-11 Tue 2025-03-11 0
23 Beta Target date #1
Fedora users plan on this
Tue 2025-03-18 Tue 2025-03-18 0
24 Retire FTI packages in NEW state
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/fesco/Fails_to_build_from_source_Fails_to_install/
Tue 2025-03-25 Tue 2025-03-25 0
25 Final Freeze (starts at 1400 UTC) Tue 2025-04-01 Tue 2025-04-15 14
26 Enable Updates in Bodhi for the current release Wed 2025-04-09 Wed 2025-04-09 0
27 Early Final Target date
Fedora contributors plan on this
Tue 2025-04-15 Tue 2025-04-15 0
28 Current Final Target date
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/releases/lifecycle/#_release_dates
Tue 2025-04-15 Tue 2025-04-15 0
29 Final Target date #1
Fedora users plan on this
Tue 2025-04-22 Tue 2025-04-22 0
30 Remove inactive packagers
https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/fesco/Policy_for_inactive_packagers/
Tue 2025-04-22 Tue 2025-04-22 0